Арапайма - самая крупная рыба

Arapaima

Arapaima

Arapaima (Arapaima gigas) is a representative of freshwater tropical fish of the family Urovnevye (Osteoglossidae). Arapaima is also found under the names - the Brazilian arapaima, pirarucu, pirarucu, pace.

Description

Arapaima belongs to the biggest presnovodnyi fish in the world, its length, on average, up to 2 meters, but some specimens 3 metres or more, the maximum registered weight - 200 kg.

The body of Arapaima elongated, slightly compressed laterally, the head is elongated, much flattened at the top. Elongated dorsal fin of Arapaima is at the rear of and in tandem with anal creates a kind of paddle.

Large and very crisp, textured (resembles the scales of dragons as they are pictured) scales of Arapaima protects her from the neighbors on the habitat of piranhas. The color of Arapaima olive with a brownish tinge (in front of the body) to dark red (in the tail).

Arapaima - a large predator, its main diet is fish, but, on occasion, arapaima are not averse to eat a bird or small animal, incautiously approached the pond. Teeth Arapaima include not only the jaw but also the language.

Amazing feature of Arapaima is its ability to obtain oxygen directly from the air - this property allows the Arapaima to survive droughts in wetlands, little saturated with oxygen, the floodplains of the Amazon. This feature of Arapaima sometimes used by local anglers that you harpooned a giant when it comes to the surface for more air - time in 5-20 minutes.

Habitat

The arapaima lives in the Amazon, preferring overgrown with dense vegetation and marshy flood-plain water bodies during the rainy season may migrate to flooded riparian forests. Arapaima is found in Guyana, Peru, and Brazil.

Arapaima successfully bred in captivity, necessary for the maintenance conditions: the reservoir volume is at least 1000 l, water temperature - 22 - 28 °C, pH - 6,0—7,5 pH, hardness (dH) is 2-15°, required aeration and filtration.

Fishing for Arapaima

In connection with an active commercial fishing specimens of more than 2 metres fall less often. Arapaima refers to fossil species and listed in the Red book, in many areas the fishing is prohibited, but in some areas fishing is possible, however if you have a license to catch.

Related tours

Fishing on the Rio Mare
The basin of the river Rio Mare is one of the sacred places to catch trophy peacock bass
Fishing on the Rio Trombetas
The Lodge is situated in one of the most remote areas of the Amazon in 100km. from the nearest settlement.
Fishing for giant arapaima

The Essequibo river is the best fishing river of Guyana, a special glory which is brought to the giant arapaima.

Fishing on the river Itapira
The Lodge's remoteness from inhabited places and the lack of fishing press promises exciting fishing

Арапайма - самая крупная рыба

Арапайма

Арапайма

Арапайма (Arapaima gigas) - представитель пресноводных тропических рыб из семейства Аровановые (Osteoglossidae). Арапайма также встречается под названиями - бразильская арапаима, пираруку, пураруку, пайче.

Описание

Арапайма относится к самым крупным пресноводым рыбам планеты, ее длина, в среднем, до 2 метров, но встречаются особи 3 и более метров, максимально зарегистрированная масса - 200 кг.

Тело Арапаймы вытянутое, слегка сжатое по бокам, голова удлиненная, сильно приплюснутая сверху. Удлиненный спинной плавник Арапаймы находится в задней части и в паре с анальным создает своеобразное весло.

Крупная и очень плотная рельефная (напоминает чешую драконов, как их принято изображать) чешуя Арапаймы надежно защищает ее от соседей по биотопу - пираний. Окрас Арапаймы от оливкового с буроватым оттенком (в передней части тела) до темно-красного (в области хвоста).

Арапайма - крупный хищник, ее основной рацион составляет рыба, но, при случае, арапайма не прочь полакомится птицей или мелким животным, неосторожно приблизившемуся к водоему. Зубами у Арапаймы оснащены не только челюсти но и язык.

Удивительной особенностью Арапаймы является ее умение получать кислород прямо из воздуха - это свойство позволяет Арапайме переживать засуху в заболоченных, мало насыщенных кислородом, поймах Амазонки. Эту особенность Арапаймы иногда используют местные рыболовы, которые гарпунят гиганта когда он выныривает на поверхность за новой порцией воздуха - раз в 5-20 минут.

Ареал обитания

Арапайма обитает в бассейне Амазонки, предпочитая заросшие густой растительностью и заболоченные пойменные водоемы, в сезон дождей может мигрировать в затопленные пойменные леса. Встречается Арапайма на территории Гайаны, Перу, Бразилии.

Арапайма успешно разводится в неволе, необходимые для содержания условия: объем водоема - не менее 1000 л, температура воды - +22 - +28 °C, кислотность - 6,0—7,5 pH, жесткость (dH) - 2—15°, обязательная аэрация и фильтрация.

Рыбалка на Арапайму

В связи с активным промысловым выловом экземпляры более 2 метров попадаются все реже. Арапайма относится к ископаемым видам и занесена в Красную книгу, во многих районах ее ловля запрещена, но на некоторых территориях рыбалка возможна, правда при наличии лицензии на вылов.

Связанные туры

Рыбалка на Рио Маре
Бассейн реки Рио Маре - одно из культовых мест для лова трофейного павлиньего окуня
Рыбалка на Рио Тромбетас
Лодж расположен в одном из самых труднодоступных районов Амазонии в 100км. от ближайшего населенного пункта. 
Рыбалка на гигантскую арапайму

Река Эссекибо - лучшая рыболовная река Гайаны, особую славу которой принесла гигантская арапайма.

Рыбалка на реке Итапара
Отдаленность лоджа от населеных мест и отсутствие рыболовного пресса обещает увлекательнейшую рыбалку